April 22, 2022

Neguse, McEachin, Matsui Unveil Earth Day Resolution

Washington, D.C. – Today, Congressman Joe Neguse, alongside Representatives McEachin and Matsui, led a group of 40 House Members in unveiling a resolution to honor Earth Day and reaffirm the importance of protecting and preserving our planet.

"On the 52nd anniversary of Earth Day, I am proud to join my colleagues in uplifting the importance of environmental stewardship and justice in the fight against the climate crisis. Securing a livable future has never been more critical and we must work together to ensure the preservation of our planet for all generations to come,” said Congressman Joe Neguse.

“We have a shared responsibility to protect the Earth and ensure future generations inherit a healthy, livable planet,” said Congressman McEachin (VA-04). “Since coming to Congress in 2016, I have introduced resolutions honoring Earth Day and reiterating the need to be strong climate advocates. Now more than ever, we must take steps to curb the impacts of climate change, promote environmental justice, and preserve biodiversity. We owe it to ourselves, to our children and grandchildren, and to our global partners and allies to uphold the values of Earth Day and take action. I look forward to continue working with my colleagues to fight climate change and preserve our planet.”

“Earth Day should be celebrated every day—and it is up to us to continually protect and preserve the nature around us,” said Congresswoman Matsui (CA-06). “From wildfires and ocean acidification to severe flooding and record heat waves, our communities and ecosystems are directly being impacted by the devastating consequences of climate change. For this reason, natural climate solutions and environmental conservation are key to ensuring access to clean air and water for all. We must continue harnessing the power of our environment to tackle the climate crisis while preserving our natural heritage. Now more than ever before, we must take bold and transformative steps to protect and restore our natural resources—and I am looking forward to continuing our important work to protect the Earth and ensure a more sustainable tomorrow.”

The following Members of Congress joined Reps. McEachin, Matsui, and Neguse in cosponsoring the Earth Day resolution: Nanette Barragán, Earl Blumenauer, Lisa Blunt Rochester, Suzanne Bonamici, Julia Brownley, Salud Carbajal, Matt Cartwright, Sean Casten, Emanuel Cleaver, Steve Cohen, Gerald E. Connolly, Peter DeFazio, Dianne DeGette, Debbie Dingell, Anna Eshoo, Raúl Grijalva, Jahana Hayes, Steven Horsford, Jared Huffman, Derek Kilmer, Ann McLane Kuster, Ted Lieu, Alan Lowenthal, James McGovern, Jerry McNerney, Marie Newman, Chellie Pingree, Katie Porter, Mike Quigley, Bobby Rush, Gregorio Sablan, Adam Schiff, David Scott, Rashida Tlaib, Paul Tonko, David Trone, Debbie Wasserman-Schultz, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Peter Welch, and Nikema Williams.

Read the full text of the resolution here.