May 04, 2020

Neguse Effort to Save USPS Builds Momentum

Congressman Neguse’s Protect Our Post Offices Act now has 80 supporters in Congress

Washington D.C.—Congressman Joe Neguse has gained broad support for his legislation to provide $25 billion in emergency supplemental appropriations to the U.S. Postal Service. The Protect Our Post Offices Act would equip and protect local postal workers and post offices throughout the COVID-19 pandemic and has gained the support of 80 Members of Congress from regions across the country. The Postal Service is anticipating a significant revenue loss due to COVID-19, with fewer people and businesses sending mail because of the outbreak. Additionally, just like hospitals, post offices are facing critical shortages of essential products to protect their workers from the virus. 

“As this public health emergency worsens, our frontline postal workers remain vulnerable to COVID-19 and our post offices require immediate support to maintain on-time and consistent deliveries for customers who are quarantining or vulnerable and rely on mail for essential supplies and food,” said Congressman Joe Neguse. “This legislation would ensure needed support for the postal service, our frontline postal workers and ensure all Americans can continue to take advantage of mail services while they remain in their homes. This will help shore up postal operations throughout the 2nd District from Boulder to Evergreen to Bailey to Fort Collins.” 

“As we practice physical distancing to stop the spread of COVID-19, we are seeing even more clearly the vital role the U.S. Postal Service and our dedicated postal workers play in keeping us connected and our economy going,” saidCongresswoman Pramila Jayapal (WA-07). “We can’t play politics with this essential service—we need to include an emergency $25 billion investment in the next relief package to protect our post offices and postal workers.”

“Every single day – and especially amid the COVID-19 crisis – the women and men of the U.S. Postal Service deliver essential goods and services to all corners of the country, including food, medical supplies, 2020 Census forms, absentee and vote-by-mail ballots, economic impact payments and a whole host of critical items and communications,” said Congressman John Sarbanes (MD-03) “We must ensure that the Postal Service has adequate resources to keep its workers safe and keep our country running as we address this unprecedented public health emergency.”

“Despite the disruptions to daily life caused by coronavirus, Iowa’s dedicated postal workers have remained hard at work ensuring Iowans can keep in touch, run their businesses, and receive necessary items like medication – especially in rural areas where the Postal Service is the only option,” said Congresswoman Cindy Axne (IA-03) “I’m proud to support legislation that would provide the resources to protect our postal workers and reinforce post offices across Iowa during this public health crisis.”

“The U.S. Postal Service is critical to families throughout Hampton Roads and our regional economy, especially during this public health emergency,” said Congresswoman Elaine Luria (VA-02) “Congress must ensure that postal service continues and that our postal workers have the resources they need to perform this essential duty.”

The Protect Our Post Offices Act is co-sponsored by Representatives Alma Adams, Cindy Axne, Joyce Beatty, Earl Blumenauer, Lisa Blunt Rochester, Suzanne Bonamici, Brendan Boyle, Julia Brownley, Salud Carbajal,  Kathy Castor, Joaquin Castro, Judy Chu, David Cicilline, Yvette Clarke, Emanuel Cleaver, Steve Cohen, Jim Costa, Joe Courtney, Madeleine Dean, Diana DeGette, Suzan DelBene, Val Demings, Debbie Dingell, Michael Doyle, Veronica Escobar, Dwight Evans, Tulsi Gabbard, John Garamendi, Jesus “Chuy” Garcia, Sylvia Garcia, Vicente Gonzalez, Raul Grijalva, Deb Haaland, Alcee Hastings, Jahana Hayes, Denny Heck, Brian Higgins, Steven Horsford, Jared Huffman, Pramila Jayapal, Hank Johnson (GA), Marcy Kaptur, Willam Keating, Ron Kind, Raja Krishnamoorthi, James Langevin, Barbara Lee, Mike Levin, Alan Lowenthal, Elaine Luria, Tom Malinowski,  James McGovern, Gregory Meeks, Seth Moulton, Stephanie Murphy, Ilhan Omar, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Jimmy Panetta, Chris Pappas, Ed Perlmutter, Scott Peters, Dean Phillips, Chellie Pingree, Mark Pocan, Jamie Raskin, Bobby Rush, Tim Ryan, John Sarbanes, Adam Schiff, David Scott, Terri Sewell, Albio Sires, Adam Smith, Eric Swalwell, Mark Takano, Bennie G. Thompson, Lauren Underwood, Susan Wild, and Frederica Wilson.